50 Greatest Conservative Rock Songs

An article in the National Review listed the 50 greastes conservative rock songs, and it is quite interesting. I had never thought of some of these songs as conservative songs.

Read the article HERE.

The number one song? “Won’t Get Fooled Again” by The Who. This is from the article:

“The conservative movement is full of disillusioned revolutionaries; this could be their theme song, an oath that swears off naïve idealism once and for all. “There’s nothing in the streets / Looks any different to me / And the slogans are replaced, by-the-bye. . . . Meet the new boss / Same as the old boss.” The instantly recognizable synthesizer intro, Pete Townshend’s ringing guitar, Keith Moon’s pounding drums, and Roger Daltrey’s wailing vocals make this one of the most explosive rock anthems ever recorded — the best number by a big band, and a classic for conservatives.”

What do you think?

3 comments so far

  1. Hoots Musings on

    I saw this on Fox and Friends this morning and I still do not get how Stand by Your Man fits in?
    Family Values with a twist of twang?

  2. extremisthttp://www.outbursts.org on

    From Everclear, I would have put “Father of Mine” on the list in addition to “Wonderful.” It’s a better example of the same theme.

    And of course my favorite must be Sweet Home Alabama (Neil Young has apparently forgotten, if he ever knew, that we don’t need him around anyhow), though if it came out today, it would probably get more play on country radio.

    I’d like to see a list of the 50 Greatest Conservative country songs. Of course, it would be much easier to put together.

  3. extremisthttp://www.outbursts.org on

    By the way, here’s a link to the Father of Mine lyrics:

    Father of mine
    Tell me where have you been
    I just closed my eyes
    And the world disappeared
    Father of mine
    Tell me how do you sleep
    With the children you abandoned
    And the wife I saw you beat

    I will never be safe
    I will never be sane
    I will always be weird inside
    I will always be lame
    Now Im a grown man
    With a child of my own
    And I swear Im not going to let her know
    All the pain I have known


Leave a Reply

